Meeru Island Resort Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

Meeru Island Resort Forum Index » Photography » What software
What software 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:50 am Reply with quote
Kenny tyler
Im now the PROUD owner of a Canon eos 500, im looking at picture editing software and have bought Photo pro 3 by serif, now im still learing the basics of photography, and editing im a total novice, is this any good or can you recommend a better one?

[/url]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:25 pm Reply with quote
sallyandpaul
Hi Kenny there could be some free stuff online you could use take a look on http://www.computeractive.co.uk/downloads/

sallyandpaul xx Razz

[/url]

We are Not Invisible!!!
Re: What software 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:36 pm Reply with quote
Humble Jim
Kenny tyler wrote:
Im now the PROUD owner of a Canon eos 500...

Congratulations...and it also means you should also have Canon's own photo editing software on disk(s) that arrived in the same box as the camera. The Canon software is known as Digital Photo Professional (DPP). DPP has a fairly quirly interface but you can do a lot with it quite easily such as change contrast/brightness along with other more advanced actions. In the sense that you've already paid for it by buying the camera, DPP is a free item that will cost nothing to get to know.

There are good free photo editing suites out on the Net also worth checking out. Google's Picasa is one of particular note:

http://picasa.google.com/

As you're starting out you should find what you have already to hand will be more than enough for a while. If and when you decide to move to shooting RAW photos rather than JPGs then there is a raft of options for that too but that's for later.

It's right to consider software at the outset but your main goal should be to concentrate on learning your hardware, taking lots of photos, practice getting good composition etc. etc.
Re: What software